Howard County, IN

Contact Information

1800 West Markland Avenue
Kokomo, IN 46901

Phone: 765.456.2020
Dispatch: 765.457.1105
Fax: 765.456.2145
Tip Line: 765.614.3372
Emergency: 911
Email

Quick Links

General Contact Info

Howard County Admin. Center
220 N Main St
Kokomo, IN 46901

Open Monday-Friday from 8am-4pm
webmaster@howardcountyin.gov

Join Us Online

Indiana Gun Permits


You can now begin your handgun application process online. Visit Indiana State Police Handgun Licensing and complete the preliminary information to save you time when you stop by your office to complete the application process.

To obtain a gun permit in Indiana, you must meet the following criteria:

  • You must be 18 years of age
  • You must NOT have been convicted of a felony
  • You must be a resident of Indiana

For first time permits, you will need to bring the following:

  • A drivers' license with your current address
  • Fee

To renew your gun permit, you will need the following:

  • A drivers' license with your current address
  • Current or expired permit
  • Fee

HANDGUN LICENSE FEE SCHEDULE

Four (4) year personal protection permit
  • Local fee: $10.00 Cash / $15.00 Refundable
  • State fee: $30.00 Money Order or Cashier check payable to the State of Indiana
Lifetime personal protection permit - No current license
  • Local fee: $50.00 Cash / $30.00 Refundable
  • State fee: $75.00 Money Order or Cashier Check payable to the State of Indiana
A portion of the local fee is refundable if a license is not issued. The entire State fee is refundable if no license is issued.

If you live inside the city limits of Kokomo, Greentown, or Russiaville, you need to go to the police department in that City to obtain a permit. For any questions regarding gun permits, please call 765.456.2020.