Howard County, IN

Howard County Council Budget Hearings Begin August 14th at 4:00 P.M.

Council Members Center Out
From Left To Right;
Dwight V. Singer, Leslie Ellison, Stanley E. Ortman, Richard M. Miller, James T. Papacek, Jeffrey A. Stout, John J. Roberts
Council Members
Richard M. Miller, President (District 04) richard.miller@howardcountyin.gov
Leslie Ellison, (District 03) leslie.ellison@howardcountyin.gov
Stanley E. Ortman, (At Large) stanley.ortman@howardcountyin.gov
Jeffrey A. Stout, (At Large) jeff.stout@howardcountyin.gov
James T. Papacek, (At Large) james.papacek@howardcountyin.gov
John J. Roberts, (District 01) john.roberts@howardcountyin.gov
Dwight V. Singer, (District 02) dwight.singer@howardcountyin.gov

Council Districts

County Council Duties and Responsibilities:

• Approving and fixing annual operating budgets of all county departments
• Authorizing the borrowing of money in the form of bonds and notes
• Authorizing the expenditure of public funds for specific purposes
• Establishing salaries and other compensation
• Fiscal affairs
• Fixing tax rates and levies
• Setting priorities for the allocation of public funds